The Year’s Work in Medievalism was originally conceived by the founder of Studies in MedievalismLeslie J. Workman (1927-2001), as an outlet for the conference proceedings originating from the annual meetings of the International Society for the Study of Medievalism.

The International Conference on Medievalism began with meetings at the U of Notre Dame in 1986 and 1987. Subsequent conferences were organized through the Newberry Library & Northeastern Illinois U (1988), United States Military Academy (1989), Castle Kaprun (1990), U of Delaware (1991), U of South Florida (1992), U of Leeds (1993), Montana State U (1994), Higgins Armory Museum (1995), Kalamazoo C (1996), Canterbury Christ Church C (1997), U of Rochester (1998), Montana State U (1999), Hope College (2000), Buffalo State C (2001), U of Northern Iowa (2002), St. Louis U (2003), U of New Brunswick (2004), Towson U (2005), Ohio State U (2006), U of Western Ontario (2007), Wesleyan C (2008), Siena C (2009), U of Groningen (2010), U of New Mexico (2011), Kent State U (2012), St. Norbert C (2013), Georgia Institute of Technology (2014), Washington & Jefferson C (2015), U of Bamberg (2016), U of Salzburg (2017), Brock U (2018), Georgia Institute of Technology (2019), Old Dominion U (2020), Delta College (2021), and Appalachian State U (2022).

Today, YWiM still receives some of its submissions based on papers presented at the annual conference and the sessions the Society sponsors at the medieval congresses in Kalamazoo and Leeds. However, YWiM is now open to submissions from everyone interested in disseminating their scholarship in Medievalism Studies.